Of early LMS systems and bits of string…

I remember a previous life and researching the early LMS systems. I seem to recall I found 6! WebCT was one of them, firstclass and topclass too. I seem to recall the pre-cursor of Blackboard, and a lotus product? I don’t know, I can’t remember. But WebCT 0.9 Beta stood out (It was known as Campus Edition then). So we went for it (with v1 of course). Actually the IT department went for it. And it worked. And it was real, real, basic – to say the least. Discussion, adding content, adding grades, making a homepage, maybe a few other tools. But we had one thing on our side. Distance Education. We couldn’t fail. And didn’t. It is still used in that place. Still alive, but of course upgraded and much changed. But I moved on (after 5 years). But alas no distance education. So how could such a tool be used??? It beat the heck out of me. For several years in fact. But I’m more sure of the direction, now having finally used it in teaching. Over 10 years consulting about it but with no real fundamental understanding of its use. How could I? Shame, shame…

3 Responses to “Of early LMS systems and bits of string…”

  1. Mike Bogle Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I’ve been meaning to post a comment for some time now but am continuously distracted by something else. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed and will be following your thoughts with interest.

    On a different note I can’t remember if I’ve told I have a Moodle test bed up and running. If you’re not familiar with it and want to have a play you’re more than welcome. Just let me know and I’ll create an account for you.

    Cheers,

    Mike

  2. leighblackall Says:

    And then along came social media to sweep it all away 🙂

    Hi Andrew, I need your email address to add you to the email forum for the Facilitating Online Communities. You can add yourself if you like: http://groups.google.com/group/facilitating-online-communities

    Please let me know how you go: leighblackallATgmailDOTcom

  3. Derek Chirnside Says:

    So how could such a tool be used???

    I’m presenting on this in two weeks. Online support for F2F classes, school home student communication.

    Two way communication is so beneficial to all the surrounding aspects to teaching and learning. – Derek
    (Just checking in from FOC08)

Leave a Reply

